top of page
Iaido (Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu)
居合道 (無双直伝英信流)


What is Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido


Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu (MJER) is a Koryu, meaning 'old school' practise of the Japanese sword. Its name means ‘peerless, directly transmitted school of Eishin’  and is often referred to simply as Eishin Ryu, takes its name from its seventh headmaster, Hasegawa Hidenobu, who founded Hasegawa Eishin Ryu.  ‘Eishin’ is an alternative pronunciation of ‘Hidenobu.’


MJER claims an unbroken lineage back to the sixteenth century however due to multiple full transition awards to students of  the 17th headmaster, Oe Masamichi, there exists multiple legitimate branches.

MJER kata contains solo techniques grouped into 3 sets - shoden, chuden, okuden, and 2 advanced sets of kumi tachi (paired practises).

Kumi tachi were created to promote practice of a key principle of Eishin Ryu under controlled yet reasonably realistic condition, however they are often taught only to advanced students after years of study.  Some of these sets are rarely seen outside of Japan.



The word shoden can be translated as ‘entry-transmission.’   This set of 11techniques was derived from Ōmori-ryū, and is still often referred to as “Ōmori-ryū.” Almost all of the techniques  are performed from seiza, a formal kneeling position.



The word chūden can be translated as ‘middle-transmission.’   This set of 10 techniques was derived from techniques created by Hasegawa Eishin and is still commonly referred to as "Eishin-ryū."  Almost all of the techniques are performed from tatehiza, a half-seated position.


Tachi Uchi no Kurai is first kumitachi waza set in Eishin-ryū. The techniques are performed from a standing position.


Tsume Ai no Kurai is the second kumitachi waza set in Eishin-ryū.  The techniques are performed from tatehiza and standing positions.



The word Okuden can be translated as ‘inner transmission,’ or ‘secret transmission.’ The Okuden sets contain 21 advanced-level techniques ....


Okuiai Iwaza no bu waza are performed from tatehiza. 


Okuiai Tachiwaza no bu waza are performed from a standing position, with the exception of the three Itamagoi waza, which start from seiza. 

bottom of page